Telstra NATSIAA logo Stacked White.png

Showcasing the very best Australian Indigenous art from around the country, from emerging and established artists.

The Telstra National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards (NATSIAA) exhibition captures the attention of the nation, with an inspiring breadth of work from emerging and established artists.

Each year Telstra NATSIAA sees an increasing variety of art forms and media, collectively demonstrating the richness and diversity of current contemporary Indigenous artistic practice, and the pre-eminence of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander voices, nationwide, within the visual arts.


Ngarralja Tommy May

Wangkajunga and Walmajarri language

2020 Telstra Art Award Winner

Wirrkanja, 2020

Explore the virtual gallery
Visit the exhibition online for the first time 

Discover the stories of the unique art practice of this year’s finalists - experience the full 360° interactive virtual gallery on your computer, or explore on your mobile to see the beautiful sculptures come to life through augmented reality.

2021 Telstra NATSIAA Finalists​


Christian Thompson

South Australia

Angkaliya Curtis

Peter Mungkuri

Tjunkaya Tapaya OAM

Betty Chimney

Sally Scales

Witjiti George

Mary Pan

Stanley Douglas

Zaachariaha Fielding

New South Wales

Dennis Golding

Thea Anamara Perkins

Toby Cedar

Western Australia

Ben Ward

Jane Cheedy

Nyangulya Katie Nalgood

Bobby West Tjupurrula

John Prince Siddon

Roma Butler

Bugai Whyoulter

Katjarra Butler

Sonia Kurarra

David Cox

Ned Grant

Timo Hogan

Fred Grant

Nola Campbell


Dylan Sarra

Elisa Jane Carmichael

Erub Arts Collective

Kyra Mancktelow

Northern Territory

Adrian Jangala Robertson

Glen Namundja

Napuwarri Marawili

Alycia Marrday

Hubert Pareroultja and Mervyn Rubuntja

Noŋgirrŋa Marawili

Charles Inkamala

Ishmael Marika

Patrick Freddy Puruntatameri

Denise Brady

Karen Rogers

Pedro Wonaeamirri

Dhambit Munuŋgurr

Kaya Dhurumuḻ Munuŋgurr

Phillip Wilson

Dhambit Waṉambi

Kaye Brown

Rhonda Sharpe

Dino Wilson

Leon Russell (Cameron) Black

Rona Rubuntja Panangka

Djambawa Marawili

Mr M Walarmerpui

Timothy Cook

Djerrkŋu Yunupiŋu

Mary Dhapalany

Tjukapati James

Djirrirra Wunuŋmurra

Ms M Wirrpanda

Wally Wilfred

Doris Bush

Muluymuluy Wirrpanda

Wanapati Yunupiŋu

George Tjungurrayi


Key dates

"It’s been a great honour to have the opportunity to undertake the judging and we are delighted by the calibre of this year’s entries."
Karen Mills, Stephen Williamson and Donna Nadjamerrek
2020 Judges Panel





Awarding $80,000

across seven categories


Telstra Art Award (The Big One)


Telstra General Painting Award

Telstra Bark Painting Award

Telstra Works on Paper Award

Wandjuk Marika 3D Memorial Award (sponsored by Telstra)

Telstra Multimedia Award

Telstra Emerging Artist Award

“This is the very first time I have been shortlisted for the Telstra NATSIAA Awards, for me it really is a dream come true. Making our work is a true celebration of our culture, we often sing the story as we paint. I am so proud to be as part of the Telstra NATSIAA this year, with my work about the Piltardi story."
Leah Brady, SA
2020 Finalist


Telstra PrincipalPartner.png
Proudly sponsored by Northern Territory

Supported by the Visual Arts and Craft Strategy, an initiative of the Australian, State and Territory Governments.