top of page

11 August - 26 November 2017


MAGNT welcomes independent curator Emily McDaniel, Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art Director, Chris Saines and artist Regina Wilson as the judges for the 2017 34th Telstra NATSIAA.


Emily McDaniel an independent curator, writer and educator from the Kalari Clan of the Wiradjuri nation in central New South Wales. She worked for three years as the Assistant Curator of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Art at the Art Gallery of New South Wales and as the Aboriginal Emerging Curator for the 18th Sydney Biennale and this year joins the Australian team for the Venice Biennale in the same capacity.


Chris Saines has over 30 years experience working in leading public art institutions across Australia and New Zealand. Saines spent 17 years at the helm of the Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tamaki, overseeing the introduction of the Auckland Triennial and the Walters Prize. He is now the Director of the Queensland Art Gallery & Gallery of Modern Art.


Winner of the Telstra NATSIAA General Painting Award in 2003, Regina Wilson, a Ngan’ gikurrungurr woman from the Daly River region of the Northern Territory is an acclaimed artist with a creative practice that spans more than 50 years. Wilson and her husband founded the re-establishment of the Peppimenarti community and in 2001 instituted Durrmu Arts. Wilson is represented in national and international public and private collections, including the British Museum, the Art Gallery of New South Wales and the National Gallery of Victoria.

Please reload

Congratulations to all the finalists for the 34th Telstra NATSIAA!


10:00am - 5:00pm


Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Years Day and Good Friday


19 Conacher Street, The Gardens, Darwin NT 0820

GPO Box 4646, Darwin NT 0801



Tel: +61 8 8999 8264

Bookings essential

Please reload

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle



The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Awards (NATSIAA) is Australia’s longest running and most prestigious Indigenous art award. The aim is to recognise the important contribution made by Indigenous artists from regional and urban areas throughout Australia, working in both traditional and contemporary media. In partnership with Telstra, the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory delivers this unique event that showcases the best in Indigenous art from across Australia.


Since its genesis in 1984, NATSIAA has provided a platform for the diverse practices of Indigenous artists and is now firmly established as a critical event on Australia’s cultural calendar. Such is the success and longevity of this award, it can now lay claim to having schooled a generation of observers who annually flock to MAGNT to immerse themselves in the best contemporary Indigenous art of the previous twelve months.


The 2017 Awards ceremony will be held on Friday 11 August.





This year two new categories have been introduced. The Telstra Multimedia Award will allow multi-disciplinary artists the opportunity to enter innovative and exciting works that use digital content. While the Telstra Emerging Artist Award (evolved from the Telstra Youth Award) provides an avenue for artists in the first five years of their practice to gain exposure on a national stage and launch their career.


The Telstra Art Award of $50,000 is awarded to the work considered by judges to be the most outstanding work across all categories.


The Telstra Emerging Artist Award of $5,000 is awarded from any category to an artist working within their first five years of practice who has not exhibited in a major institution.


Prizes of $5,000 each are awarded in each of the following categories: 


  • Telstra Bark Painting Award

  • Telstra General Painting Award

  • Telstra Works on Paper Award (includes photography, print making, drawing)

  • Wandjuk Marika Memorial Three-Dimensional Award (sponsored by Telstra)

  • Telstra Multimedia Award (for multidisciplinary and digital works)


Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists can submit one original work that has not been previously exhibited or made available for sale. All awards are non-acquisitive and entrants are eligible to win one award.




Andy Snelgar

Penny Evans




Anniebell Marrngnamarrnga

Barayuwa Munuŋgurr

Beth Inkamala Mbitjana

Bob Burruwal

Djirrirra Wunuŋmurra

Djuwakan #2 Marika

Gary Lee

Gunybi Ganambarr

Guykuḏa Munuŋgurr

Harold Joseph Thomas (Bundoo)

Hubert Pareroultja

Marlene Rubuntja

Noŋgirrŋa Marawili

Nyapanyapa Yunupiŋu

Pedro Wonaeamirri

Rhonda Sharpe

Roland Burrunali

Timothy Cook

Yalti Napangati

Yolanda Rostron

Yukultji Napangati


Delissa Walker

Paul Bong

Robert Tommy Pau

Shirley Macnamara

Warraba Weatherall




Alec Baker

Anwar Young, Unrupa Rhonda Dick and Frank Young

Betty Muffler

David Frank

Iluwanti Ken and 
Mary Katajuku Pan
Jimmy Donegan and
Willy Kaika Burton

Jimmy Pompey

Kaylene Whiskey

Matjangka (Nyukana) Norris

Mumu Mike Williams

Nyunmiti Burton

Nyurpaya Kaika Burton

Paniny Mick

Pepai Jangala Carroll

Peter Mungkuri

Ray Ken

Robert Fielding

Rupert Jack

Taylor Cooper

Tiger Yaltangki

Tjungkara Ken

Vincent Namatjira

Watarru Collaborative

Wawiriya Burton

Yaritji Young


Kent Morris

Lisa Waup

Christian Thompson



Billy Atkins Yunkurra

Illiam Nargoodah

Mervyn Street

Muuki Taylor

Neville McArthur

Ngarralja Tommy May

Nyarapayi Giles

Ray James Tjangala

Tjigila Nada Rawlins



Telstra have been the principal sponsor for 25 years. NATSIAA is also supported by the Northern Territory Government and the Australia Council for the Arts, as part of its Visual Arts and Crafts Strategy.

bottom of page